The Road(s) Not Taken

“Two roads diverged in a wood and I –

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.”

Robert Frost

Now that my Medical School application season has come to a close, I can’t help by reflect on all the roads I passed up on traveling along the way to just being accepted. Applying to medical school is such a long, long, long process, and so much of my time has been devoted to just “getting in” that I have so rarely taken the time to reflect on all of the decisions that have lead me to this point. I’d like to think that every time I chose a road it was the right one, but the truth is that I don’t know, because I can’t know what my life would be like if I hadn’t made the choice to go down the road to Medical School. I do know that the decisions I have made have made all the difference, because here I am, accepted and waiting to start. The first hurdle is crossed, and now I am standing on the threshold of another, even more arduous than before – Medical School.

So here I am, in the same place Robert Frost was, telling myself that this road I have traveled is making all the difference, without knowing what all those other roads had in store for me. Here I am, preparing to dedicate the next 4 years of my life to more school, and for some reason I couldn’t be more excited. It doesn’t matter that I don’t know what my life would have been like had I taken a different path, because I am about to fulfill the dream I have been working towards for the last 4 years, and has been 22 years in the making. After spending countless hours agonizing over organic chemistry textbooks and having to stay in on Friday nights while my friends went out and had fun because getting that A felt like life or death, I have finally received that letter in the mail telling me that I will be a medical student. I am about to start my journey to becoming a doctor.

 

 

Leave a Reply

